A little bit of caveman, a little bit of rock and roll…..

7 Comments

Yes, after a whole lotta sculpting and some exceptionally difficult stone setting for some reason, I’ve finally finished Marty’s Austral and the rock ‘n roll ring for James.

This is good, because I’m WAY behind on some waxes I’m supposed to be working on.

Let’s get to it, because I have to get back to work.  Here are some shots from Jame’s rock ring.

Screen shot 2013-01-21 at 6.16.13 PM

 

Screen shot 2013-01-21 at 6.16.45 PM

 

Think it turned out great.  The mic texture on the side is a little tough to photograph, but you can see it peaking from behind the orbital bone of the skull.  I’m shipping this one out in the AM.

Aaaand, here’s the austral.

 

Screen shot 2013-01-21 at 6.17.10 PM

 

Screen shot 2013-01-21 at 6.17.19 PM

 

Screen shot 2013-01-21 at 6.17.34 PM

 

This f’ker is so comfortable to wear (on my pinky) which is crazy because it really looks heavy.  Well, it is heavy….but I kept the shank nice and thick with a good solid bevel so it’s well-balanced.

Now I have some waxes coming out too, so stay tuned for those.  I’m hoping to make another post in the next two days.  See you on Wednesday.

7 thoughts on “A little bit of caveman, a little bit of rock and roll…..

  1. Pingback: australopithecus skull from MT Maloney » the Moronosphere

  2. Hey Maestro,
    They both look great. The rock n roll came out better than I envisioned. I like how you used a different finish inside the pick. Sorry the stones were tough to set. The ones you chose are perfect. They look f ing otherworldly. The microphone texture is brilliant. Couldn’t wait, had to check out the pix. Can’t wait to wear it. Thank you for your effort and artistry Matt. I know this one was a bit difficult. You pulled it off beautifully. – James.

  3. Pingback: Taotie « From The Workbench

Comments are closed.